Alli's Blog
Saturday, 23. November 2002
Reflection

Content

I believe this Multigenre Research Project was assigned to us was to give us a different attitude, for lack of a better word, about approaching research papers. It involves the use of many different ways of presenting the information from a creative standpoint, but also with a factual base. Initially, we were to choose a main question that interested us and that we wanted to find more answers to (and almost certainly not the answer). After that, we developed a set of more narrow questions that would lead to specific information necessary to answer the main question as fully as possible. After that, we were to choose from a list of provided types of writings and the voices or viewpoints from which we would write them. In the end, we were assigned the task of making the project cohesive and finding a way to not only to make the genres “flow” together, but also to, literally, make navigation through them as easy as possible.

Process

Many times during the completion of this project, I found myself using processes I had never had to use before, like pretending I’m an audiologist or thinking about what a parent whose child was just diagnosed with a severe hearing loss might think or feel. But before all of that came along, I was definitely challenged to complete other weekly tasks with this course, almost all of which involved a lot of thought and careful review. That was definitely a change of pace from the normal frenzy of online research that usually happens the night before I need the information. One of the other new processes I used was that of making webpages. I know I wrote in my online journal about this stuff all the time, but I definitely never thought I would be making webpages….ever! Another new process that I discovered about the class was that I had never before met online for a class. Meeting on the MOO was new and kind of hard to get the hang of, but once the second week rolled around, it was like I had been in chat rooms all of my life! Having a week or two to get assignments done was also a challenge in time management, which I almost always just barely passed. :) Almost every week, I waited until Sunday night to finish my assignments and, although I didn’t miss any deadlines (at least, I think and hope I didn’t!), I definitely could have used my time a little better.

Premise

So what did I learn about this project that I hadn’t really thought about before? With regards to my specific essential questions, the answer is that deaf children are taught how to read and write many different ways. Most of the time, the SLP isn’t involved very intensely, unless, of course the reading tasks (taught at school) are incorporated into the therapy sessions. Learning to read and write is essential to ensure success, regardless of hearing or deaf, and when another handicap is added to illiteracy, it makes having a productive life even harder. With regards to this project, I learned how neat it can be and how much you really can learn just through reading someone else’s creative ideas. I never would have given much thought to any emotional aspects of communication disorder topics had I not been challenged and required to. One of the neat things I realized about this project is that, instead of just spoon-feeding people the facts about what we found, we instead challenge readers of our projects to determine their own ideas or answers by taking in all of the information and the subtle ways in which it’s presented. With regards to the entire course, my ideas are these: anyone can make webpages, be careful about how much information you assume is completely valid, don’t ever take CD 315 in the fall of your senior year :) and hang on with hope because the end of the semester shows up a lot earlier than it’s supposed to! I’ve also learned how satisfying it is to close the books on a semester’s worth of work and to remember how defeated I already felt after one week of this semester’s class. Now, as the dust is still settling, I can see that all that remains is a cute little book of information, neatly packaged and ready to be read.

Online for 7908 days
Last modified: 10/24/02, 2:42 PM
Status
Youre not logged in ... Login
Menu
... Home
... Tags

Search
Calendar
April 2024
SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930
December
Recent updates
Preface This Multigenre Research Project
is a major part of a computer and information literacy...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 9:14 PM)
Genre 7 Referral Letter Marshall
Speech Center Donna B. Kuhn, M.A., CCC-SLP Huntington, WV 25705...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 7:37 PM)
Reference List Holcomb, K. (2001).
Reading strategies for deaf children. Retrieved on September 24, 2002...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 7:35 PM)
Genre 4 (Part 2) To:
hpotter@magic.org From: bethha@SLP.org Dear Henry, My advice to you would...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 7:32 PM)
Genre 2- Journal Entries (These
journal entries are in the voice of a client who...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 7:14 PM)
A little about me...
Fun Places MTV I love music and go to MTV.com a...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 7:06 PM)
Reflection Content I believe
this Multigenre Research Project was assigned to us was to give...
by Absheils (12/8/02, 5:33 AM)
Genre 4 (part 3) To:
bethha@SLP.org From:hpotter@magic.org Beth, Just to let you know, we did...
by Absheils (12/7/02, 6:16 PM)
Multigenre Research Project Table of
Contents Preface About the Author Acknowledgements Genre 1-Email Exchange Part...
by Absheils (12/4/02, 9:01 PM)
Genre 5 Powerpoint If you
click on you can view my Powerpoint presentation.
by Absheils (12/4/02, 5:09 PM)
Genre 1- Poem So this
is what a poem is? They tell me it’s supposed...
by Absheils (12/4/02, 4:10 PM)
Welcome to my Blog! This
website supports my Multigenre Research Project about deaf literacy. Feel...
by Absheils (12/4/02, 4:04 PM)
Genre 4 (Part 4) To:
hpotter@magic.org From: bethha@SLP.org Henry, I'm sorry to hear Joey's diagnosis,...
by Absheils (12/4/02, 3:57 PM)
Week 13 Online Journal So
this week, the assignments were to tie the threads, to...
by Absheils (11/25/02, 5:03 AM)
Genre 4 (part 1) To:
bethha@SLP.org From: hpotter@magic.org Beth, My name is Henry Potter and...
by Absheils (11/23/02, 1:51 AM)
Acknowledgements Big thanks to Mrs.
McComas for answering the endless emails and questions that have...
by Absheils (11/23/02, 1:48 AM)
About the Author Hello! My
name is Allison Sheils. I'm 21 years old and am...
by Absheils (11/23/02, 1:42 AM)
Week 12 Online Journal The
semester's almost over! The semester's almost over! Sorry....couldn't contain the...
by Absheils (11/18/02, 4:31 AM)
Week 11 Online Journal This
week, I set out to finish my last genre. I...
by Absheils (11/11/02, 4:38 AM)
Project Prospectus Research Question:
"How do deaf children become literate after only communicating manually?" Foundation...
by Absheils (11/11/02, 1:52 AM)

RSS feed

Made with Antville
Helma Object Publisher